Forums
April 20, 2024, 12:04 PM

Author Topic: Rules/changes for new schemes into allround league  (Read 3057 times)

Offline TheWalrus

Rules/changes for new schemes into allround league
« on: April 15, 2017, 02:05 PM »
So since big rr and intermediate have been put into classic league I think the rules need some clarification. 

The biggest one for me is ties in big rr.  Ties are very frequent in this scheme, especially with two ropers of like ability.  I've played maybe 4 big rr's since I started playing league this season, and 2 of those had a tie in them.  Big rr can run up to 30 mins in length if its a long map, so I would propose one of two things:

1.  A tie is broken by how much turn time is remaining (another reason to get rid of the banana, see below).

2.  A tie is broken by touching finish and roping back for the remainder of turn, worm that makes it the farthest is the victor.

3.  A tie is broken by both worms starting their next turn after finishing at end, and roping back towards start, whichever worm goes farther is the winner.

I think it is imperative to break ties like this, there used to be lots and lots of ties in 30 sec (small) roperace, and the ttrr system solved that.

Also, the banana needs to be removed from the scheme, it would block use of #1 tiebreaker option above, and when you boil it down, the banana is completely useless, it serves no function whatsoever, but I would be open to hearing someone that wants to explain why it is useful.  If the banana is removed, there is a question of turntime, i have long since used 40 sec no banana, but some like senator favor 30 sec. 

Other than that, Big rr is pretty good scheme-wise.  Onto intermediate: