Forums
March 29, 2024, 06:47 AM

Author Topic: Tether: A worms rope-inspired game  (Read 1350 times)

Offline Sycotropic

Tether: A worms rope-inspired game
« on: June 11, 2020, 06:46 AM »
Hey guys,

I was pretty active on W:A years ago but was never really active on here.. I've still been hopping on every so often to play some casual games with friends, but I haven't been active in the community in ages.

I'm also a hobby game dev and in my free time I've been playing around with trying to match worms rope physics. I have it reproduced fairly well and I'd like to start going further with the game, but I'd love some feedback about direction and the current feel of it.

My current plan is to make it a fairly simple single player A to B game similar to the likes of Super Meat Boy or Celeste.
The levels would start out simple with nothing more than a cavern to rope through, and they would get progressively more difficult (adding things that can kill you other than just falling, complex obstacles that require more roping finesse, etc).
I would love for the obstacles to be designed in such a way that they actually require you to do certain tricks like a shadow, but if not those things will always be tools to get faster times.

I only have a few really basic levels and some placeholder art, but it's already pretty fun to rope around.
Some of the added obstacles I've added are pretty interesting. I've added saws, walls that kill you on touch (red), and walls your rope won't hook on to (light gray).
Currently if you're ever touching the terrain while your rope isn't attached you die and the level is reset.

Here's a link to the itch.io page where you can downlaod a build of the game (windows only right now): https://syc.itch.io/tether

Let me know what you guys think!

Also I'm only really working on this occasionally in my free time but if I were to find a talented artist or other serious collaborators I'd definitely be down to invest more time into it.

Offline koalefant