Forums
April 19, 2024, 02:35 PM

Author Topic: WA Update & ProjectX Question  (Read 741 times)

Offline Kradie

WA Update & ProjectX Question
« on: July 25, 2021, 03:40 PM »
Here is an potential Interesting question: To my knowledge Project X was made by one or two person in mere months or a year total, and the entirety of the source code was not accessed. While 3.8 took close to a decade to make, but feature wise pale in comparison to ProjectX. Why is this? 

ProjectX = Short amount of time = Lot of features = Not full access to WA source code.
WA Update = Decades = Not so many feature = Full WA source code access.

I am no developer, publisher, and so on. I am just curios on the train of thought, and process of things.

Thanks for replies.
Global Wormin' - A Friendly Discord Worms Server
https://discord.gg/zvFwZuAKQB

Offline MonkeyIsland

Re: WA Update & ProjectX Question
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2021, 08:59 AM »
All developers on this game are volunteers. All the improvements you see are done in their free time. Comparing their work is like comparing their personal life and how they manage to dedicate some free time to work on the game.
Due to massive misunderstandings: MonkeyIsland refers to an island not a monkey. I would be a monkey, if my name was IslandMonkey meaning a monkey who is or lives on an island. MonkeyIsland is an island which is related to monkeys. Also there's been a legend around saying MonkeyIsland is a game. So please, think of me as an island or a game.

Offline Kradie

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2021, 09:43 AM »
All developers on this game are volunteers. All the improvements you see are done in their free time. Comparing their work is like comparing their personal life and how they manage to dedicate some free time to work on the game.
Ah.... That's a good point I never thought of it in that way. I just hope that I didn't rattle some cages, I was just curious and because of that I got what I was looking for.

Thank you.