Forums > General discussion

WMDB's licensing problem - any lawyers in the house?

<< < (3/4) > >>

Anubis:
My maps were actually uploaded without my permission on TUS, I created them but didn't upload them myself. I think it's time to sue TUS... xD

TheKomodo:

--- Quote from: CyberShadow on March 19, 2020, 10:04 AM ---Whether it's likely or not, and whether it goes as far as legal action or just vague threats to take it, having our ducks in a row will help avoid trouble later.

--- End quote ---

Agreed.

Growing up, I always thought(about condoms), it's better to have one and not need it, than need one and not have it :/

Xrayez:
I raised a similar question 2 years ago about TUS maps as well, so as a game developer I'm also concerned.

https://www.tus-wa.com/forums/maps/what-is-the-license-of-uploaded-maps-31692/msg266349/

Having ability to load any kind of map is likely a serious legal issue in and of itself. How can ensure that those maps are not actually distributed by me? For W:A it's not much problem because, well, the activity is quite low and nobody is really aware of such a feature in my opinion. It's a matter of time before someone could take legal action against you... I might be paranoid though. ???

MonkeyIsland:

--- Quote from: Anubis on March 19, 2020, 10:13 AM ---My maps were actually uploaded without my permission on TUS, I created them but didn't upload them myself. I think it's time to sue TUS... xD

--- End quote ---

The W:A starter mappack has over 8k maps, which was originally uploaded by Mablak. If something happens I'm gonna blame it on him xD

--- Quote from: CyberShadow on February 28, 2020, 07:53 PM ---By the way, I think TUS has the same problems, but it's not up to me how TUS wants to address them.

--- End quote ---

TUS does have the same problem. (it also extracts maps from replays uploaded) I'll follow your footsteps on the licensing.

Chicken23: