Forums > General discussion

Early 2000s

<< < (5/8) > >>

TheKomodo:

--- Quote from: l7cx1Cl on March 08, 2019, 06:26 AM ---Hah thx it's actually my ipod 😏

Yo where can I listen ?  What daw u using?

--- End quote ---

Sorry I missed this.

Sure i've told you before lol, but I currently use Cubase 8.5.2 (legit).

https://soundcloud.com/komito-1

l7cx1Cl:

nice dude I like sea star ^.^
this is my first attempt at DNB

https://soundcloud.com/nak4ma-psy/dnb-track-is-not-done

TheKomodo:
What DAW are you using?

I kind of like the idea you are going for, the beat has an interesting groove, but the mixdown is, as expected, pretty noob.

I really like the intro, it has an interesting atmosphere to it.

The kickdrum/snare/hihats etc sound way over compressed to me, they sound very thin and weak, the hi hats aren't as weak as the drums but can still be improved.

The bass sounds quite weak as well, in contrast to the rest of the track it sounds ok, but the whole track itself sounds over compressed, lacks energy because of everything sounding thin.

Still, it's better than my 1st attempt at Drum & Bass lol.

Check this out:

https://www.musicradar.com/computermusic/computer-music-issue-214-ultimate-freeware-march-2015-615578

I used to buy a lot of the Computer Music Magazine issues back then because the guy I was learning from was an editor/contributor to the magazine, and I stumbled across this beauty.

If you scroll down you will come to "DnB TRACK-BUILDER", that specific tutorial was instrumental in learning how to do an authentic sounding mixdown, as well as how to make proper sounding DnB Drums.

If you purchase a copy of that issue, you can download the tutorial and the samples, even if you don't use the same DAW, you can translate everything it teaches into any DAW, and the best thing is, all the VSTs used are free! There are a couple of VSTs you will need to do your own research to find though, I managed to do it, i'm sure you can too :)