Forums
May 05, 2024, 01:29 AM

Author Topic: Wheat Snooper supports WormNat2 Hosting now  (Read 6168 times)

Offline chakkman

Re: Wheat Snooper supports WormNat2 Hosting now
« Reply #30 on: May 24, 2011, 07:27 PM »
I'm not a professional but how could that be possible unless Cybershadow didn't make either Worms or Wormkit not safe towards hacks like that?  :o Not calling you a liar but that sounds pretty weird.

I've posted about this here on the Team17 forums, but I feel I should clarify this.

1. There is little to prevent me or Deadcode from adding a virus which destroys your computer* in W:A Beta updates. (Team17 do a cursory check before publishing them online.)
2. These is nothing to prevent me from adding a virus in the WormKit EXE/DLLs which destroys your computer.
3. There is nothing to prevent Pisto from adding a virus which destroys your computer in RubberWorm.
4. There is nothing to prevent Lookias from adding a virus which destroys your computer in the Wheat Snooper EXE.
5. There is nothing to prevent Kawoosh from adding a virus which destroys your computer in his RubberWorm/KawooshKick/etc. modules.
6. There is nothing to prevent StepS from adding a virus which destroys your computer in his RubberWorm installer.
7. Ultimately, there is nothing to prevent ANYONE from adding a virus which destroys your computer into any software that they wrote and you downloaded. On-line or downloadable virus checkers do not guarantee that any file is "safe".

If you download someone's code from the Internet, you pretty much entrust all the files from your computer to them.  That it can modify any aspect of W:A's programming goes without saying. If you're playing this game, you probably trust me and Deadcode not to do something like that, but I can't speak for anyone else. If you don't trust someone, don't run their software.