Forums
May 01, 2024, 11:50 AM

Author Topic: Gravity / Speed MESSED UP  (Read 1919 times)

Offline Morus

Gravity / Speed MESSED UP
« on: April 11, 2016, 08:14 AM »

[TLDR: skip to words in bold]

Can anyone explain me why is normal gravity a little weak in some schemes hosted by TUS-WA website compared to HostingBuddy schemes?

It may seem almost unnoticeable. But it makes big difference while roping.

First of all, I'M NOT A NOOB!

I first noticed this years ago, when playing roper scheme for the first time and then every once in a while.
As I was a noob, I just thought I wasn't good enough to play roper and that maybe I wasn't focused enough.
Now, however, my roping skills are much better. I play rope race and WxW a lot in HostingBuddy schemes.
So I finally decided to play tus leagues then. But soon I noticed how roping was messed up in tus schemes
(Roper and Shopper, so far, but not WxW Shopper).

These are the issues:

1- The roping becomes "weak". It takes more strengh (or time) to build movement and speed during roping.

2- At same time, roping gets more "inertia". The movement and speed already built in roping last much longer than usual.

It took me a few game losses to figure out that only a lower gravity would reproduce both issues.
Low gravity makes movement slower, requiring then more time (issue 1) while also makes them last longer (issue 2).
It seems like normal gravity is set up around 70-90% of that in HostingBuddy schemes.

I deactivated RUBBERWORM to compare schemes from tus (ROPER) and HostingBuddy(SHOPPER).
But the roping behaviour still feels different for each one as explained above.
You can easily feel the difference when trying to achieve max speed.
You'll notice how hard it is to gain speed in tus schemes.
It actually seems like there is a lower frame rate or lower max speed limiter.
Also, in tus scheme, you may notice differences when you hit a wall (you bounce much longer in lower gravity) or flying (you fly much longer too).