Forums
April 28, 2024, 06:23 AM

Author Topic: TUS Usernames on WormNET  (Read 2325 times)

Offline Kradie

TUS Usernames on WormNET
« on: December 19, 2021, 09:30 AM »
I would like to propose a joint effort between TUS and WormNET, where a system is made to validate username Integrity, and prevent Identity theft and abuse. I am already experiencing the weight of this and I know that others may have experienced the same.

Keep in mind I am no expert in the fields of programming and networking. But I came up with the Idea when I attempted to use secure login with Great Snooper.

When you attempt secure login with a snooper, it uses TUS username. Unfortunately to my knowledge, you cannot access WormNET if someone else uses the name through ordinary login, but I thought otherwise. I thought secure login would force the other user off, and that's what I want but did not get. So here I am proposing the Idea to force users off of WormNET by using secure login.

I even expanded the Idea to have a BOT on WormNET that would actively cross check & scan TUS member list and WormNET logins. So for example: A random person wishes to use the name TheWalreus, this person would be prompted with a message that this name is already taken, and that this person would need to go to TUS. Obviously this method is not theft proof but it helps legitimize the Integrity of the user.

The user would have a couple of options on TUS to switch on and off:

Enable/Disable Secure Login.
Use only TUS to login on WormNET (Browser must be open for IP verification).
Login regularly on WormNET, and provide password to BOT in 10 seconds after login.

Obviously there could be better, refined, or more or less options, but these are just some.

But what does this mean for people who doesn't care and just wants to play? Go on as usual and play the game.

Since TUS and WormNET's HostingBuddy share schemes and maps, I don't think this could be a problem?

Thoughts? Can this be done?