Forums
May 02, 2024, 02:04 AM

Author Topic: Last clanner playoff was 4 seasons ago. Time to do something?  (Read 14370 times)

Offline Ray

Re: Last clanner playoff was 4 seasons ago. Time to do something?
« Reply #60 on: August 26, 2014, 05:09 AM »
Berria:
I don't think I'll play W:A again anytime soon, the point in time when I would've continued playing has long passed and tbh I've grown tired of all the discussion here.

Let me add just this, my thoughts about the actual root of the problem.

When I started playing this game it was out for a good 1.5 years and roping was already well established. When I saw these guys go crazy in Ropers and Warmers I instantly wanted to learn how to do it myself, to be able to compete with them. So I practised roping like 6 hours/day in order to become just nearly as good as them. After a while I found out about leagues and registered for cl2k div2 - that's when I realized just how bad I still was, so I went back to practise. Of course I also played public Shoppers etc, but the amount of time I spent just roping in Singleplayer was far greater. That's how ambitious I was.
There was no easy way to become a real part of the competitive community. You basically had to earn your right to play in Warmers with certain people. The community was full of elitists and fairly hard to access. But to me that wasn't an all-negative thing - I had an incredible amount of fun trying to build up a reputation and to get the community's recognition/acknowledgement. There was a (distant) goal to work towards. It's sort of how the real world works.

Nowadays it's all just so different. I don't think I would've sticked around for too long if I had started playing W:A in 2013/14. And I know many others wouldn't, either.

I didn't write all this because I want that feeling back (of course I do), but because I honestly don't think that today's newbies have an ambition and excitement anywhere close to what I (or 'we') experienced back then.